So little time… so little to do

February 13, 2007

What could have been…

Filed under: arbit — Priyam @ 4:51 am

Often it takes one moment in life to define what is important to one. And what more than the times when you might have come close to death. Recently it was while being mesmerized by the play of wild wavy waters of the Pacific. Well, not actually but it could easily have turned futile even though I had taken enough caution. I must admit that this was not my first brush with danger nor the closest that I have come to a major accident of sorts. What is surprising is that in hindsight, they were dangerous, they were silly. But I would still probably do them given another chance. Well not all of them, but some yes. And in all cases, I faced the situations either without any expression or with laughter. My thoughts the least scared for myself but more for friends with me. Do I love myself too little ?

I have many a times crossed the thin line between courage and foolishness. The uncanny part is that while I find it so easy to be brave for myself, I remain so afraid when dealing with other people and their fate. Don’t know if that is good or bad. Are most people the other kind ? Atleast that is what Gregory Roberts feels in Shataram

One of the ironies of courage and why we prize it so highly, is that we find it easier to be brave for someone else than we do for ourselves alone

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

